Lamentations of Jeremiah (full orchestra parts and score)

Lamentaciones de Jeremias
Composed by Z. Randall Stroope
Voicing: SATB
Catalog number: AMP 0356PS
Price: $125.00

* Orchestration: Piccolo, Flute 1 & 2, Oboe 1 & 2, Clarinet in B–flat 1 & 2, Bassoon 1 & 2, Trumpet in B–flat 1, 2 & 3. Horn in F 1, 2, 3 & 4, Trombone 1 & 2, Bass Trombone, Tuba, Timpani, Piano, Percussion 1, 2 & 3, Violin 1 & 2, Viola, Violoncello, Double Bass

The composer chose this text because of its “human-ness”. Suffering to a greater or lesser degree is common to all human beings. The present musical setting of these lamentations seeks to capture the wide range of emotions which Jeremiah must have felt grief-stricken, alone, ready to cry out, sobbing uncontrollably, and torn between belief and his circumstance. Indeed, the composer has sought to firmly root the listener's feet “in the soil” of life and let him or her feel sorrow in one breath and love in the next. Choirs must communicate this array of juxtaposed passions to the listeners, who will understand and will know all too well many of these feelings. The piece ends in a sudden overwhelming feeling of confidence and unleashed power in his Lord (“Domine”) and the strength of that relationship in difficult times.

Home  News  Composers  Catalog  Order  Submissions  Contact Us  About Us 
Copyright © 2004 Alliance Music Publication Inc. All Rights Reserved.